Gojira announces new album and releases new music

Gojira have revealed details about their long-awaited new album, FORTITUDE, which will be released on April 30th, thru Roadrunner Records. The band released the upcoming album’s first single, ‘Born For One Thing‘ on Feb. 17th which is available on all streaming services. They’ve also released the official video on the same date, which is directed by Charles De Meyer and filmed in France and Belgium.

“Born For One Thing” represents a natural development for the renowned French band. They are hyper focused and unstoppable. Confrontational, byt yet full of compassion.

“We have to practice detaching ourselves from everything, starting with actual things,” says vocalist and guitarist Jo Duplantier about the song’s anti-consumer message, which was inspired by Tibetan- and Thai philosophers he read in his youth at home in France.

“Own less possessions, and give what you do not need away, because one day we will have to let everything go, and if we do not, we’ll just become ghosts stuck between dimensions.”

The album is recorded and produced by Joe Duplantier at Silver Cors Studio, Gojira’s headquarters in Ridgewood, Queens, – and mixed by Andy Wallace (Nirvana, Rage Against The Machine).

FORTITIUDE is an album that encourage humanity to imagine a new world – and to make it happen. Gojira originally laid the foundation for FORTITUDE last year with the surprise release of the single ‘Another World’.

FORTITUDE is Gorija’s first album in five years and follows up their Grammy®-nominated LP MAGMA from 2016.

Album tracklist:

  1. “Born For One Thing”
  2. “Amazonia”
  3. “Another World”
  4. “Hold On”
  5. “New Found”
  6. “Fortitude”
  7. “The Chant”
  8. “Sphinx”
  9. “Into The Storm”
  10. “The Trails”
  11. “Grind”

Latest Album

Six Hundred and Fifty

Tales of the End



Related articles